All-VYPE Boys Basketball Teams (Presented by WSU Tech)

Last month, the boys and girls basketball coaches in VYPE’s distribution area were asked to vote for opposing players for the 2022 All-VYPE basketball teams.

There are three different teams for both boys and girls basketball: Wichita Large (6A-4A), Wichita Small (3A-1A) and the Salina Area. The top five vote getters make the first team and the next five make up the second team. The remaining players with votes comprised the honorable mention. Each team is listed in alphabetical order.

The top vote getter from each team was named the player of the year.

Congratulations to those who made the 2022 All-VYPE basketball teams.


Wichita Large School

First Team

Kyle Grill, Maize

Kobe Smith, Andover Central

Henry Thengvall, Kapaun Mount Carmel

Jack Voth, Buhler

Marcus Ziegler, Wichita Heights


Second Team

Will Anciaux, Kapaun Mount Carmel

Isaiah Atwater, Maize South

Jameer Clemons, Derby

Wyatt Spexarth, Andale

T.J. Williams, Wichita Heights


Honorable Mention

Asa Barnes, Wichita Southeast; L.J. Berkstresser, El Dorado; Mikey Brand, Bishop Carroll; Andrell Burton, Campus; Brett Gibbs, Clearwater; Walt Grey, Bishop Carroll; Jaden Gustafson, Maize; Chase Harris, Wichita Heights; Chris Harris, Andover; Kee’on Hunter, Wichita Northwest; Avery Johnson, Maize; Jeremiah Kemboi, El Dorado; Dre Kemp, Wichita Heights; Luke McGinnis, Circle; Kaden McDaniel, Augusta; Geremiah Moore, Wichita Northwest; Chris Morris, Andover; Nathan Nemecek, Andale; Brian Perry, Andover Central; Jacksyn Potucek, Andale; B.J. Redic, Andover; Grant Ricker, Buhler; Garrett Robertson, Hutchinson; Eli Shetlar, Andover; Noah Simmons, Valley Center; Kellan Simoneau, Rose Hill; Adriel Smith, Rose Hill; Jack Wright, Wellington


Player of the Year – Marcus Ziegler, Wichita Heights

Coach of the Year – Joe Auer, Wichita Heights


Wichita Small School

First Team

Jack Duarte, Wichita Collegiate

Luke Grace, Cheney

Jake Proctor, Hesston

Cason Richardson, Hesston

Harrison Voth, Cheney


Second Team

Wesley Fair, Wichita Collegiate

Chase Hilger, Norwich

Austin King, Udall

Xander Newberry, Attica

Jackson Swartz, Chaparral


Honorable Mention

Izic Billups, Conway Springs; Jordy Dolloff, Wichita Classical; Jace Gorsch, Norwich; Lance Hoffsommer, Sedgwick; Emilio Ibarra, Hutchinson Central Christian; Nash Johnsen, Conway Springs; Jake Lambert, Hutchinson Central Christian; Colter McDaniel, Attica; Harrison Middleton, Cheney; Joseph Recalde-Phillips, Wichita Independent; Gonzalo Rodriguez-Cardo, Dexter/Cedar Vale; Brayden Schilling, Hesston; Cam Schmidt, Burrton; Braden Scribner, Remington; Brant Sipe, Haven


Player of the Year – Harrison Voth, Cheney

Coach of the Year – Greg Raleigh, Hesston



Salina Area

First Team

Logan Churchill, Moundridge

Tanner Heckel, Inman

Seth Madron, McPherson

Brekyn Ratzlaff, Hillsboro

Eli Sawyers, SE-Saline


Second Team

Kaleb Becker, Abilene

Cav Carlgren, Concordia

Makaen Hastings, Solomon

Landon Kaufman, Moundridge

Grayson Ratzlaff, Hillsboro


Honorable Mention

Eli Brunk, Inman; Keegan Dimler, Hanover; Caiden Duerksen, Goessel; Sid Dupliss, Salina Central; Max Ehrlich, Salina Sacred Heart; Emmitt Jueneman, Hanover; Braxton Lafferty, Little River; Eli Larson, Bennington; Trent Long, Clifton-Clyde; Tejon McDaniel, Salina South; Nakari Morrical-Palmer, Southeast of Saline; Matthew Potucek, Hillsboro; Zach Surface, Sterling; Keyan Wiggers, Elyria Christian


Player of the Year – Seth Madron, McPherson

Coach of the Year – Darrel Knoll, Hillsboro