" "
Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

VYPE KansasVYPE Kansas


State Cross Country Recap


Kapaun Mount Carmel’s Erik Enriquez won the 5A individual championship by eight seconds over Bishop Carroll’s Carson McEachern.

Enriquez improved his state time by over a minute from last season, where he took 14th.

Carroll took fourth as a team.

On the girl’s side, Hope Jackson from Bishop Carroll won her second consecutive championship. Jackson’s teammate Landon Forbes took third.

Maize South won the team title, placing four runners in the top 21. It was the Mavericks second title in the last five years.


The Buhler boys won their third straight 4A championship, as the Crusaders placed all six of their runners inside the top 31.

Leading the way was Tanner Lindahl, who took third.

Winfield took third, with three runners all placing inside the top 10: Craig LaBrue, Camilo Leos-Tarin and Corban Priest.

Sawyer Schmidt of Augusta and Cody Achilles of McPherson took sixth and seventh, respectively.

Taylor Briggs of Chapman won her fourth straight championship and became just the sixth girls runner in state history to win an individual title all four years. Briggs won by nearly two minutes.

Hayler Trotter from Clearwater and Leah Bentley from Buhler took third and fourth respectively.


Southeast of Saline won its third straight boys title, with its top five scores placing three in the top 14.

Dylan Sprecker paced the Trojans with his fourth place finish. Luke Gleason took 10th.

Smoky Valley came in second, with all three runners finishing inside the top 22. Ryan Heline took third.

It had been six years since the Southeast of Saline girls won a state title, but thanks to three runners placing inside the top 31, the Trojans won the 3A title in 2020.

Jentrie Alderson was Southeast of Saline’s best finish, as she took seventh.

Minneapolis had the fifth and sixth best times with Maddy Krueger and Alayna Cossaart.


The Berean Academy boys won their second straight title, this time taking home the 2A trophy, after winning 1A last season.

Andrew Harder led the Warriors with a fifth place finish, while Gavin Tucker took tenth.

On the girl’s side, Remington took second, with Lucy Brown leading the Broncos by finishing 11th.


Collin Oswalt of Hutchinson Central Christian took home the 1A championship by 23 seconds over Caleb Eilert of St. Johns.

The result was flipped from last season, when Oswalt took second to Eilert.

Jaycee Vath from Lincoln defended her individual championship, taking first by 36 seconds.

Lincoln finished second as team, while Classical School of Wichita took third.

You May Also Like


By Joanna Chadwick Boys Abilene 72, Chapman 36 Andover 76, Salina Central 43 — Blake Rucker hit seven three-pointers and scored 25 points for...


By Joanna Chadwick Boys Abilene 57, Clay Center 41 Andover 66, Newton 32 — Andover was led by Blake Rucker’s 20 points and Quenci...


Boys Andover Central 70, Andover 51 — Jayden Brown led Andover Central with 19 points, Jace Jefferson 18 and Brody DeGarmo 12. Brown and...